Finding New Art in Valparaíso, Chile

I’ve spoken about Valparaíso in Chile a few times before.  I’ve expressed my love for the city and shown you street art and more street art!  Valparíso is the kind of city that you want to keep going back to, the kind of city that you never tire of and of course, the kind of city that you keep recommending and talking about to others.

This week, Carlos and I spent two days in the city as a little break before everyone arrives for our wedding (a pre-wedding moon?!)  It was my fifth time of visiting the city, and my first time back in over four years and it was everything I remembered.  The really great thing about visiting a city that is covered in street art is that it is constantly changing; I spotted so many new murals, so many steps that had been painted a new colour and so many extra details.   Despite this, some of the murals were still the same from my first visit five and a half years ago, but I noticed how some of the paint had flaked away, how the colours were slightly less vibrant.  All of this from old to new makes the perfect day for wandering the city, which feels more like an outdoor gallery.

Here are the new pieces of art I spotted, of course, not all of them may be new but they were new to me!  DSC04452DSC04403 DSC04405DSC04408DSC04448DSC04447DSC04456DSC04412 DSC04419DSC04446DSC04427DSC04437DSC04438DSC04463DSC04441DSC04457And, it’s not all about paint!  These colourful decorations are actually plastic cups on strings:DSC04420DSC04421DSC04425And these?  Well, they are plastic bags tied to railings but they looked great from a far! DSC04426And tiles too, because what is not to love about brightly coloured tiles?!DSC04445DSC04462

One of the many great things about Valparaíso are the hills!  They give you calf ache the following day, but at the very top you are rewarded with spectacular views, even when you visit on a very cloudy day, like we did.DSC04433DSC04440DSC04398DSC04399DSC04400DSC04407DSC04411Which city do you keep returning to & what do you think of Valparaíso?!

I hope you are having a great weekend!!

Marcella xx

Follow along on: Bloglovin’ | Instagram

Packing my Suitcase Travel-Tuesday-Logo

33 thoughts on “Finding New Art in Valparaíso, Chile

  1. Love Valparaiso. I recognise some of these from my visit a year ago – but some are new and it’s so nice to see them – thanks for sharing. I love the idea of going back there in the future and seeing what new things have popped up. Fabulous city and stunning photos! 🙂

  2. Every beautiful place will give you calf-ache. :p
    It’s beautiful! I think my favorite would be the colorful door however the painting on top of the stairs made me wonder how they were able to do it. :p
    #MondayEscapes

  3. I can see why you like Valparaiso so much. I will walk and walk until I have seen as many murals as possible. Congrats on your wedding!

  4. Wow! So many gorgeous street art. It’s so cool to go back to the same place, but have new and interesting things to look at. I didn’t loooove Valpo when I went. but if I ever make it to Chile again, I will drag you to Valpo with me because you seem to have found all the coolest art spots!

  5. I can definitely see what keeps you coming back to this city! I’ve seen a lot of street art.. but nothing like this! I kept thinking “oh this is my favorite!” but as I scrolled down saw more and more that I loved! Your Chile posts make me so happy! 🙂

  6. Ohh I still haven’t been there!! I hope to visit it someday.
    How awesome the street art! And ohhh I didn’t know you guys were getting married soon, congratulations 😀 I wish you both lots of love and happiness together!
    Also, Happy New Year!
    Thank you for linking up with #MondayEscapes

  7. Pingback: Introducing Wanderful Wednesday - A New Travel Link-Up

Leave a comment