Street Art of East London

Happy Travel Tuesday!

Today I’m going to share my favourite place in London and it’s the best place to spend Sundays. Welcome to Brick Lane {and the surrounding area.} Brick Lane is a road in East London that is home to more Asian food restaurants than you can imagine.  On Sundays it transforms to a bustling, buzzing road full of people.  People seeking to try cuisine from all over the world; the Sunday market, both indoors and out, boasts food from every corner of the world.  Food from Burma to Venezuela to Sri Lanka, and everything else you can think of and it is so delishously fresh.  The problem is that you want to have a taste of it all, yet the portions are very generous so you can only manage one.  The markets also showcase colourful clothes, intrictate jewellery and lots of other ‘bits and bobs’.

Another thing you will notice is how colourful the walls are.  Many of them are coated in street art, and that’s what I want to show you today.  So I’ll let the pictures do the talking…DSC03220 DSC03221 DSC03222 DSC03223 DSC03224 DSC03225 DSC03226 DSC03228

Is this not the most amazing street corner?  Especially on a beautiful spring day. Look at that blue sky!DSC03229

Wouldn’t you love the outside of your house to look like this?DSC03230 DSC03232 DSC03233 DSC03234 DSC03236 DSC03237 DSC03238

This one was one of my favourites.  I can only imagine how long this must have taken.DSC03239 DSC03240 DSC03242 DSC03243 DSC03244 DSC03245 DSC03246Where is your favourite place to go street art spotting?

More street art, here:

Berlin | Berlin Wall | Marseille | San Francisco | Valparaiso | More Valparaiso

Marcella xx

~

Now, it’s time to link up!

Welcome to the Travel Tuesday link up with Bonnie from A Compass Rose.traveltuesday

The post I am highlighting from last week is this wonderful one, written by Amy from Amy and the Great World.  Amy wrote a love letter to the beautifully stunning city of Hallstatt.  A city that I knew nothing about but found myself googling after reading this post.  When can I book my plane ticket?!

Here’s how it works:

1. Share a post about travel!  From roadtrips to trips abroad and from past travels to dream vacations.  You can write about travel tips and tricks, favorite places to stay or anything in between! Just make it about traveling somewhere!

2.  Grab the lovely button and link back to your lovely hosts: Michelle,AmandaCaity and I.

3. Linkup goes live! Every Tuesday at 8 am GMT.

4.  Hop around and meet new travel loving bloggers! Link up will be open for a few days, make sure to check back to visit some of the newer travel posts!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

41 thoughts on “Street Art of East London

  1. Oooh I love street art! This area of London sounds amazing (and delicious!). Next time I’m there, I will definitely go check out the east side. These street artists are so ridiculously talented! I’m sure you saw the street art in Bellavista in Santiago too. It reminds me of that!

    • Me too, I always try to hunt for street art in new cities and it reminds me of the walls in Bellavista and Lastarria too but for me Valparaiso will always be my favourite street art spot 😉 It’s so amazing! I can’t remember if you’ve been?
      This part of East London is my favourite so I’d highly recommend a visit there 🙂 Especially to try the food market on a Sunday!

  2. So very colorful! I really like the animal one… what is it? A possum maybe? I don’t really have a favorite street art destination, as there is so much surrounding me in Berlin, but I love just walking around or exploring a new city and being surprised by art in a hidden away location.

    • That one is huuuuge! Not sure that the pictures shows how big it is. It’s a hedgehog painted by a famous street artist and he’s done a few in different parts of London. Berlin must be the best city for street art – I loved finding it on so many streets 🙂

  3. I love this!!! This is my favorite area of London – I just love the street art! I really can’t decide which photo is my favorite, but the one with the ship sailing on the water is really cool. I’ve never done the Brick Lane market on Sunday but am definitely going to hit it up next time I’m in town. The food sounds amazing and I’m sure I’m going to have the same problem of wanting to sample everything!

  4. All of this street art is SO amazing!! Who knew London had such creative street painters? (is that what you would call them?) Some of these are really just fantastic! Like you I also LOVE the street art in Berlin! I actually did and alternative tour and learned about some of the artists! So interesting! Also in parts of Brooklyn like Williamsburg you can find some great street art!

    • I’ve heard about those tours, they sound great for getting to know more about the art. We googled the street art and came across a trail that lead you too see the best pieces in Berlin, so we set off and it was an amazing way to spend the day 🙂

  5. Wow! This street is gorgeous, I wish Madrid has something like this. The colours are so vibrant and the images are quite creative. Reading your description of the restaurants on the street make me hungry! Unfortunately, Madrid is also lacking a bit when it comes to international food.

  6. Oh my god. I kept scrolling, excited to comment on which one was my favorite… but I honestly can’t! They’re so colorful and brilliantly done!! If art like this was scribbled all over my home, I wouldn’t even mind 🙂 Too bad I didn’t know about this district when I last visited.

  7. Ahhh. I love street art! London is on my travel bucketlist so I will definitely make note to check out east london if I’m ever there. Thanks for sharing photos of the art! Street art is appearing more and more in the D.C. area and I’m loving what I’ve seen so far 🙂

  8. Love these pictures! I’ve been away from East London for a little over a year and it seems it’s got even more colourful! Thanks so much for sharing. Oh and my 2nd favourite place for seeing street art other than London has to be Bogota in Colombia or may Valparaiso in Chile – both beautiful places 🙂

    • Thank you! I agree, it’s got so much more colourful than it was before. About six years ago, when I first started going to Brick Lane, it was so much quieter. It’s crazy now! I think Valpo will always be my favourite city to see street art – there is no blank wall left! I can imagine Bogota is amazing too 🙂

Leave a comment