10,000 balloons

Covent Garden Market is temporarily under 10,000 white balloons of different sizes, and it’s so beautiful!  The balloon installation is the work of artist Charles Pétillon who says, “The balloon invasions I create are metaphors. Their goal is to change the way in which we see the things we live alongside each day without really noticing them. With Heartbeat I wanted to represent the Market Building as the beating heart of this area – connecting its past with the present day to allow visitors to re-examine its role at the heart of London’s life.”

The balloons go on for 54 meters and are 12 meters in width so there are plenty to see!  I went along yesterday and had a sudden feeling of calmness while I admired and photographed the balloons, which wasn’t something I hadn’t expected. There’s something nice about the fact that everyone who walks past, stops to look at the balloons instead of rushing by to the office or the surrounding shops.

A moment of quiet under the clouds of balloons 🙂 DSC03982DSC03977 DSC03978 DSC03979 DSC03980DSC03974 DSC03981DSC03983 DSC03984 DSC03985 DSC03986 DSC03987 DSC03988

If you are in London, try to catch the balloons as they are there until 27th September.  You can see more about the installation here.

So what do you think about the balloons?  What’s the most interesting piece of art you have seen?

Marcella xx

My Travel Monkey

Bloglovin’ | Instagram

30 thoughts on “10,000 balloons

  1. Love Covent Garden and these ballons look so nice inside the market! My favorite exhibition has been Chihuly glass sculptures in Kew Gardens a decade ago!

  2. Ahhh! This looks sooo cool! If only I could see this in person, I’m sure I would get that calming feeling you described. I love balloons because for something so simple as a piece malleable plastic filled with air, it always changes the energy of a space by making it feel special 🙂 My only wonder is whether the heat emanating from the windows above would make them pop?

  3. How fantastic! I hadn’t heard about this installation but will have to check it out when I next go into the city. Great pics! #mondayescapes

  4. They look so wonderful and I am excited to say we’re going to Convent Garden this weekend, so I will be able to enjoy the balloons too! Hopefully I will take as good photos 🙂 Thanks for linking up with #MondayEscapes

  5. Pingback: The Stories That Are.. Vol. 7 - A Bit of This and a Lot of That...

Leave a comment